Dodge Dart Auto-Tech Competition! Twelfth Annual GLVADA Auto-Tech Competition


A dozen years have gone by since the first GLVADA Auto Tech Competition began. In recent years some things have changed, but some things have remained the same. The constant is the venue, the Northampton Community College automotive department, along with NCC’s instructor, Mr. Warren Farnell as the host. All of the area vocational schools continue to be invited yearly to participate. Mr. Vince Luppino continues to be the chief judge along with Troy Miller as chairman; both help to organize the technical aspect of the competition. However, each year the automobile chosen for this event is different. This year, the New Dodge Dart became the challenge for the competing teams.

Doug Strohl, GLVADA’s liaison for the event and owner of Strohl Automotive Services, was instrumental in obtaining the Dodge Darts the students used before and during the competition. The generosity of the following dealerships made it possible for them to compete: Brown Daub, Reagle Dodge, Gray Chrysler Dodge, Rentschler Dodge, Rothrock Chrysler Dodge, Kalafer Organization and Sands Chrysler Dodge.

On Saturday, February 16th the teams from seven area vocational-technical schools faced off for the twelfth annual competition. The schools competing were, Bethlehem Area Vo-Tech, Carbon County Technical Institute, Lehigh County Technical Institute, Monroe County Technical Institute, Upper Bucks Vocational-Technical, Western Center Technical, and Hunterdon County Technical.

There were two students on each team. The event tested their skills in electrical wiring repair, brake measurement, engine performance and much more. They also had a question and answer segment, as well as a computer work station. It was a grueling and stressful day for these young men, who someday hope to be employed by a local automotive dealership in their service area. But on this particular day, they were focused on winning the first place trophy.

The 2013 first place winning team members are Ethan Gaither and Aron Nemes from the Bethlehem Area Vocational-Technical School. Their instructor, Jeff Cantrell was also a first place winner when he attended CIT, Easton back in 2002. Presented the second place trophy are Danny Simon and Hoa Vuong from Lehigh County Technical Institute. Finishing in third place, the trophy went to Sayre Kresge and Tyler Hahn representing Monroe County Technical Institute.

All the team members who participated went home with a personalized trophy, and commemorative hat and shirt from GLVADA. The top winners were also offered scholarships.

The winning team will have the opportunity to compete in the National Auto-Tech Competition in New York City, which is scheduled for April 1-3.